The Mia Arbatova Ballet Association

Under the framework of its activities to promote classical ballet in Israel, the Association founded a Trust Fund to support excelling dancers and to commemorate Mia Arbatova, pioneer of classical ballet, her unrelenting work and eminent contribution to classical ballet in Israel.

The Goals of The Association:

The Mia Arbatova Ballet Competition To encourage, support and advance talented young students of classical ballet. The Association initiated a biennial classical ballet competition in which financial Prizes are awarded to the winners, from the Mia Arbatova Trust Fund. Several of the participants in the ballet competition are dancing with companies In Israel and abroad.

Every other year a gala performance is held in order to raise funds for The Association, which gives ballet schools an opportunity to perform on a professional stage.

In this way the Association promotes classical ballet and works towards excellence in the standards of both teachers and students.

The Mia Arbatova Ballet Competition The Association also raises the standards of classical ballet by inviting prominent teachers from abroad, to give courses to advanced students.

Additionally, since 2005, the Association and MATAN are providing "Pas de Deux" workshops for outstanding dancers.

The Association works in cooperation with:
The Suzanne Dellal Center for Theater and Dance,
The Dance supervision of the Ministry of Education,
The Department of Arts in the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Jaffa.

The Mia Arbatova Classical Ballet Association is a non-profit organization, whose members volunteer their services.


  • Nira Paaz
  • Yair Vardi
  • the late Hezy Leskly
  • Zohara Simkins-Manor

The original members of The Association:

  • Nira Paaz
  • Yair Vardi
  • the late Hezy Leskly
  • Zohara Simkins-Manor
  • Irona Taic
  • Attorney Zvi Pomrock, the legal adviser for The Association.
  • the late Mia Pick – Ayolo
  • the late Avraham Fishman (Attorney)
  • Ricky Zuckerman

Members that Joined the Association During the Years:

The Mia Arbatova Ballet Competition
  • Reuven Foremberg
  • Bracha Tsemach
  • Dalia Kahalani
  • Sima Almog-Mishouri
  • Claudio Kogen
  • Shaul Gilad

Friends of the Foundation

  • ALBERT GAUBIER Foundation-Denmark
  • Municipality of Tel Aviv-Yafo, Department of Arts
  • Toronto Chapter of Canada –Israel Cultural Foundation-Canada
  • Ministry of Education, Culture &Sport
  • Yehoshhua Rabinovitz Fund for Performing Art
  • Ofra Goland Arbatova-Holland, in memory of her father, Josef Goland
  • Gil Shiva-U.S.A
  • Zohara Simkins-Manor, in memory of her mother, Liza Berdichevsky
  • Irona Taic
  • Nisko Company Ltd.
  • Georgina Yacobi
  • Rizel Foundation for Globalization, Culture and Tolerance
  • Shosh Carmel
  • Yoelit Frank-U.S.A
  • Irit Browdy-U.S.A
  • Alexandra Packin-U.S.A
  • Adv. Leon Eli
  • Moshe's Lazra's family
  • Shula Moses
  • Nili Bar